Advertise Now
  Home > Travel Canada > Canada Destinations > Strathcona County, Alberta (Specialized Municipality)

Strathcona County, Alberta (Specialized Municipality)

Canada is a country in the northern half of North America. It is the 2nd largest country in the world in area, after Russia, and has the longest coastline of any country in the world, being next to the Pacific, Arctic, and Atlantic Oceans. Canada has the highest mountain range in the whole world. Around 30 million people live in Canada's ten provinces and three territories. Ottawa is the capital of Canada.
Strathcona County is a Specialized municipality in central Alberta, Canada between Edmonton and Elk Island National Park. It is located in division number 11 and is also part of the Edmonton Census Metropolitan Area. More than half of the population lives in Sherwood Park, a large community east of Edmonton that has opted to retain hamlet status. Strathcona county was designated as a Specialized Municipality on Jan 01, 1996, in order to accommodate the specific needs of an area that includes both urban and rural territory.
First officially recognized in 1893 by the territorial legislature as Statute Labour District 2, Strathcona County has changed immensely since its inception. In 1913 Statute Labour District 2 was renamed to Local Improvement District 517, which then, in 1943, merged with Local Improvement District 518 to become Municipal District 83. By joining with local school divisions in 1962, Municipal District 83 officially became a county. County status was subsequently revoked in 1995 when the County Act was repealed by the provincial legislature, but was quickly returned in 1996 when the County of Strathcona 20 officially changed its name to Strathcona County and received Specialized Municipality status.
Today, one can also learn about its history, from its earliest times and gain enthusiasm in its natural beauty and populace. Strathcona County enjoys a very positive reputation with worldwide travelers.

Back to Canada Destinations